GNWT - Industry, Tourism & Investment

The Department of Industry Tourism and Investment was established in April 2005 with a mandate to promote economic self-sufficiency through the responsible development of Northwest Territories natural resource industries and the promotion and support of tourism, trade and investment, business to create a prosperous, diverse and sustainable economy for the benefit of all Northwest Territories residents.

The Department is divided into six program divisions, structured under two directional priorities - Economic Development and Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources.

Three additional Divisions (two of which are shared with the Department of Environment and Natural Resources) support the divisions and regional offices of the Department in areas of policy, legislation, communications, financial, administration and technical services.

Regional offices in Yellowknife (North Slave), Fort Smith (South Slave), Norman Wells (Sahtu), Fort Simpson (Dehcho) and Inuvik (Inuvik) support the Department’s regional delivery model and ensure program support and assistance is available in every community in the Northwest Territories.


2nd Floor YK Centre PO Box 1320
Yellowknife, NT X1A 2L9
(867) 920-8967
(867) 873-6109